Summer stitching

batter up

I didn’t end up waiting until the All-Star break to stitch this one.  Since Nathan Hale and the Main Street Gazebo still hadn’t arrived in my mailbox, I thought I would probably be stuck working on them through the break.  All the colors except the green were changed to DMC.

bee sam

Little House Needleworks again!  Bee Sampler, stitched on buttermilk jobelan, which is a really pretty light yellow and sadly doesn’t show up well.  This was stitched with the called-for floss colors.  The beeswax is from a local bee farm in my town.  It is much softer than the beeswax I bought from an online needlework shop.  Maybe theirs had been sitting around for years?  I don’t know.  But this wax is soft and smooth and doesn’t flake apart.  If you are in the United States, I bought my beeswax here.  They also have an Etsy shop.

Last night I started the gazebo.  Since you all know I am dreading the big house on Nathan Hale, I put that one off for now.  I feel like I just received these two patterns and now the coffee shop is being released.

I do wish there was a LNS within a half hour from here.  Both are about an hour and a half away.  One marks up everything above retail, and the other is a traffic nightmare!  I ordered Nathan and the gazebo online and paid almost as much in shipping as I did for each pattern.  It works out that I paid about $8.50 for each $6 pattern!  I know shipping is expensive, but I also know that it costs $2.61 to ship that package!  I am considering having one of the more local shops hold several months’ worth of these for me, then making the ride out to get them.  Unfortunately that would leave me very behind in stitching them, and when I have done this in the past, I have never finished the series.  !!!  Hence, I still have 2 Little Sheep Virtues to do, and 4 from Shepherd’s Fold 2014.  That’s embarrassing to admit.  I can’t keep paying about $5 to ship them though — I’d rather have the money for something else.

If you have a good LNS, you are blessed!  If you don’t, have you found an online shop with reasonable shipping charges?  And do they actually have the products in stock?  I hate ordering online and then waiting for weeks or months — especially when it involves threads and I am in the middle of a project.  (That’s how Quaker Gone Tropic ended up as another UFO.  I waited weeks for the order that contained the silks I wanted.)

Bible school is this week and that is going to severely cut into my stitching time.  I usually stitch afternoons and evenings.  Maybe I won’t attend every night.   The Bible study topic for adults is one that doesn’t interest me in the least.  😦

Until next time… happy stitching!

 

Leave a Reply

