Finishes/Progress

Happy Summer!

Here is my progress so far on the Early Americans:

ealhn

This one has become such a pain!  I ripped out most of the eggshell (Classic Colorworks) floss and replaced it with DMC B5200.  The eggshell didn’t show up on the lambswool at all.  Stitching houses was always one of my favorite things, but this Martha Washington house wasn’t fun at all for some reason.  I don’t have Nathan Hale yet, but it is another big house.  I *will* work on it when it finally comes in, otherwise the project will become a UFO.

Next up is the finished (and very wrinkly) baseball player.  I changed the floss to DMC 823.

bbp

Following these finishes, I worked on Faith of the Heart.  I had a lot more done and realized my counts were off.  A lot of it had to come out.  😦

foth2a

I had to put in that partial grid just to figure out what was wrong.  Frustrating!

Once the picking apart was finished, I needed a break.  So I stitched up this Little Sheep Virtues, No. 6, Simplicity.

lsavsxs

This one took less than a day to do.  Unlike the previous one, which took months.  ???

My only change was switching the sheep to Caron Impressions.  It made him fluffy and bumpy.

Yesterday’s start was Little House Needleworks’ Bee Sampler.  I didn’t get far, but it is a fun one.

bees

The fabric is buttermilk jobelan.  It is such a pretty yellow!  The picture doesn’t reflect the actual color at all.

Stitching plans:  Finish the Bee Sampler and go back to Faith of the Heart, unless Nathan Hale and the Main Street Gazebo arrive first.  Start Little House Needleworks’ “Batter Up” during the baseball All Star break.  Beyond that… who knows?  It would be nice to finish up some UFOs, but I am committed to working on the Early Americans and Main Street.  So many of my UFOs are on 35 or 36 count (5 out of 10, plus one on 40 count) and I get bored with that easily.  Getting back to Quaker Gone Tropic would be nice as I haven’t worked with silk in a very long time.   Soon it will be time to think about Christmas ornaments too.  One day at a time, right?

One of the ladies at church has a bee farm, and I finally got to talk to her about that.  I asked if she sold beeswax for threads, and she does!  Her prices are very reasonable so I am going to order some.  Waxing threads for the higher count fabrics seems to work very well for me.  I will report back when I have tried them.

Enjoy your summer!  It is too hot to be outside here so it is a great time for stitching, unlike winter when everyone wants to be out.  That’s Florida!

2 thoughts on “Finishes/Progress

  1. I’m using Thread Heaven on every thread in Andromeda, not just the metallics like I normally would. It’s made a big difference & I think I’ll always use a conditioner from now on. And you’ve just reminded me; one of the team upstairs has in-laws with bee hives and honey facilities. I’ll ask him for some wax! Do I need to do anything with it before I use it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

