May Update #2

In my last post, I wrote that I wanted to start the February Year in Chalk pattern on May 3rd.  My stitch maynia plans were to alternate starting a project on one day with working on whatever I feel like on the 2nd day.  Since I didn’t stitch at all on May 1st, things have been a little messed up but I have basically stuck to the plan.

heart stitched

I started it and finished it the same day!  It was a very quick stitch.

On May 4th, I received some charts in the mail so instead of waiting to start something new on the 5th, I started a new project on the 4th.  On the 5th and 6th, I continued working on it.

It is the Main Street Flower Shop by Country Cottage Needleworks, stitched on evenweave since Star Sapphire linen is not one of my favorite fabrics to work on.  I actually sold what I had of it in my stash.

msfs day 2

I had stitched the brown in the top border with the wrong color and had to frog it.  Other than that, things have gone well.

On May 7th, for a new start I chose Plum Street Samplers’ In God We Trust, which is a free design available on her blog.  I stitched while watching (mostly listening) to two baseball games and two hockey games.  I have been stitching to sports for over 20 years. Since I don’t really have to look at the TV, it works well.

igwt day 1

I got everything done but the red.

Today is work-on-whatever day.  I am going to try to finish this one.  The flag might take a long time.  I did a little frogging on the bottom of it yesterday.  It was a row off.

A question for you:  When you follow fellow stitchers, would you rather see their work on Instagram or Facebook than in blog format?

Speaking of work:  The dress.  Ugh, the dress.  It has been SO MUCH FUN that I took the craft table down, put the sewing machines away, and hid the dress in the den closet.  I CANNOT get the zipper right.  I have ripped it out at least a dozen times.  Let’s face it — I hate sewing and I am horrible at it.  The zipper was taken out so many times that the fabric is fraying.  I don’t ever want to see it again.  It is so discouraging.  I think my next step is taking it apart further — removing the bodice altogether.  The bad news is that I have enough fabric to make SIX more, and I can’t even make ONE!  Having to sew actually ruins my day.  Why put myself through that?  I would rather be stitching or doing almost anything else.

On a happier note, here is my May stitching to date:

1st – none

2nd – finished Little House Needleworks’ Little Sheep Virtue No. 12;

– started Little House Needleworks’ Home of the Brave

3rd – started and finished  Hands On Designs – A Year in Chalk, February

4th – started Main Street Flower Shop

5th- worked on MSFS

6th – worked on MSFS

7th – started In God We Trust

8th — ???

Happy stitching!

One thought on “May Update #2

Leave a Reply

