End of August

I knew the start of school would slow down my stitching, but I didn’t realize just how much it would!

I had started one of the Little House Needleworks Scripture pieces, which is quite small.  It isn’t even half done.

And then, on a whim, I started Quaker Gone Tropic.  This piece is over 11 inches wide and 28 inches long when finished.  I rarely have time to work on it.  This is my progress as of yesterday.

 

QGT

Page one is finished, and part of page 2.  I have changed almost all the colors.  The big whatever-it-is in the top center was supposed to be a silk floss that was bright green and orange-red.  The SAME COLOR, which I purchased at the same time as the pattern, is the gold that you see in the star.  That’s more than a dye lot change!  I was extremely unhappy with them when they arrived.  The greyish flowers on the vine are one of the original colors — drab, drab, drab.  As is the purple.  The green – well, the dyer didn’t have the right color and took it upon herself to substitute.  The original was lime.  The substitute was pale yellowish green which was INVISIBLE on the fabric.  To say I am unhappy with those threads would be an understatement.  And they cost $8.50 each!!!  Note to self:  I will never buy any of these threads again.  They are so tightly wound that they are curlier than my hair (!!!) and I am much happier with my substitutions, which are all either Caron or Gloriana silks and don’t fray!  And they are much more reflective of the tropics than those other colors.

If you like the pattern, buy other floss for it!!!  And make sure you really, really like the color you choose for that center top thing, because you will use a LOT of it.

If you had seen something you liked in my shop, please beware that almost everything is gone.

Wishing you happy, peaceful stitching…

 

 

Leave a Reply

