Stitching Update

I have a few finishes to share!

I finished this one in April.  This was one of the wrong-sized frames I had ordered and this pattern fit it nicely.  It is a freebie from La-D-Da called Tiny Sampler.  Apologies for the dreadful photography.

DSCN5299

I also finished this one back in April.  I used leftover silks from another project and tried making it into a flat fold with help from the Twisted Stitcher’s video tutorials.  Vonna is great.  But mine came out… eh…  I have autoimmune inflammatory arthritis in my fingers and pulling and pressing and tugging just hurt so bad.  The design is a freebie from La-D-Da.  I just love her designs.  I have her Cat & Dog coming in my next order along with one of her older patterns.

DSCN5302

And just finished today…

DSCN5305

It’s been pressed and is being framed as I type this!  Yay!!!!

It is Simple Joys by Little House Needleworks.  I substituted for the Classic Colorworks floss (I didn’t have them, sadly) with Weeks’ Dye Works Moss, Plum, and Chestnut and Gentle Art Sampler Threads in Cornhusk.

I will probably go back to the Counting House for a little while.  I need to get a picture of that one before I start it back up.  I believe I have the house finished.  After that I am not sure what I will start.  I don’t really feel like working another big project, especially since the buyer for Spiritdancer vanished after all that hard work.  (Although Quaker Gone Tropic has been calling to me, I will continue to resist the urge.)  I still have frames without designs to go in them… ugh… two are older frames from long ago, and another is a newer one.  I have learned my measuring lesson when ordering frames!  You have to count the real estate between the edge of the frame and where the mounting board fits.  Duh…

So for this year, I have finished dozens of yarn projects (knit and crochet) and the following cross stitch patterns:

  1. Spiritdancer by Butternut Road
  2. The Petal Fairy by Mirabilia
  3. Tiny Samper by La-D-Da
  4. Alphabet with Hare by La-D-Da
  5. Summer Breeze by Brittercup Designs
  6. America by Little House Needleworks
  7. Simple Joys by Little House Needleworks

I had a goal of 50 handmade items this year, but I have already done it.  Most of my things were donated to charity, or are here waiting for something to sell in my Etsy store so I can buy the postage to mail this HUGE box of things like burial gowns/blankets for babies, prayer shawls, etc.  I need a new goal.  I thought, how about 50 finishes in cross stitch?  But that is most likely not do-able, especially since I tend to make big or complicated things.  Maybe 50 cross stitch starts this year, except I don’t have 50 things in my stash (though I do have magazines!)  I turned 50 this year (seems IMPOSSIBLE since I don’t really feel OLD) so I wanted to do something fun yet stay within the virtually nonexistent budget.  I have been thinking this over but haven’t decided anything for certain yet.

When Simple Joys is framed and hanging, I will post a picture.

Happy stitching!

 

 

Leave a Reply

